Free Lunch

On Saturday, I went to lunch with a friend of mine. We spent the whole meal discussing comic books, Physics classes, and recent movies, describing what we would have done to make them better. You know, typical nerd stuff. After we are done, the waitress comes around to clear our dishes and the following dialogue occurs (paraphrased, of course):

Waitress: Would you like anything else?

Friend: No, I think we are good.

Me: Yeah, we’re good.

Waitress: *Awkwardly standing there*

Me: We will take separate checks, please.

Waitress: Well, actually, your meal has been paid for.

Me: For real?

Friend: What? By whom?

Waitress: Those gentlemen at the table over there. They are regulars here, so sometimes they do this sort of thing. *She leaves*

Me: Oh wow.

Friend: I don’t know what to do. I have never had this happen before. Should we go over and thank them?

Me: I have never had this happen either! I have no idea what to do, but thinking about thanking them is sending my social anxiety through the roof!

*Friend and I proceed to have a 40 minute conversation about movies. We eventually get up to leave, thanking our benefactors as we go.*

Honestly, I have never had a stranger pay for anything for me before. It was a really awesome blessing.

Leave a Reply

