Binge or Overdose

I love comic books. I love superheroes. I especially love superhero TV shows, if they are done right. This is the main reason I love Netflix. Some of the shows to have graced My List include Justice League/Justice League Unlimited, Batman Beyond, Young Justice, Ultimate Spider-man, and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. And now, Daredevil has arrived.

Daredevil isn’t good – it’s fantastic. I was apprehensive at first because of the TV-MA rating. I am not a big fan of excessive language or nudity, but after a quick search online, I discovered this rating was for the violence, which I can cover my eyes for if need be. I’ve only had to do it 3-4 times thus far, although I am only 3 episodes in. Episode 3 was the worst.

But I am not a movie/TV critic, so I am not here to review the show. No, I am here to talk about the thing that Netflix’s online streaming service practically invented: binge-watching.

See here, I don’t have a TV. Don’t take that the wrong way and think I am trying to sound better than everyone because I don’t have a TV. No, I wish I had a TV; I just can’t afford one. So I have to watch all my favorite shows online. My favorites services for this are Netflix (for movies, older TV shows, or past seasons of current TV shows) and ProjectFreeTV (for current episodes).

Now, when Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. came out, I watched the first episode through ProjectFreeTV. But since I had several other shows I was watching at the time (Arrow and The Big Bang Theory, among others), I just did not have time to keep up with it. Then Netflix put up the first season. I still did not make time to watch it. Over my Thanksgiving break, my mother decided to binge watch it. I caught parts of episodes and decided “Hey, I should watch this!” I still did not watch it. Fast forward to now. Last week, I finally decided to watch it. I finished the first season in a matter of days, then used ProjectFreeTV to catch up on the second season. In the span of a week, I had watched over 30 episodes. Now, some die-hard binge watchers out there might say that is weak and I could have watched all the episodes in 2-3 days, and they are right. But remember: I am a college student in NROTC. I have other obligations.

So then Daredevil came out on Friday, the day after I finished binging on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. And I watched the first episode and was so engrossed, I wanted to watch more. So I did. After the second episode, I started the third, but I found I just could not keep watching. Was it because the show wasn’t sucking me in? Was I uninterested? No, I was very interested.

The first problem is I had just finished a binge – I was binged out. If I tried to binge any longer, I would overdose.

The second problem is that Daredevil is a lot grittier and heavier than Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I tend to binge on more light-hearted, easy to swallow stuff. Daredevil is so heavy that I just cannot do it.

A similar thing happened when I tried to binge on Sherlock. First, each episode is 90 minutes long, so it’s like watching several movies in a row. Second, Sherlock can also be pretty heavy. So after watching the first season of Sherlock, I watched the first episode of the second season, and I just stopped. I haven’t been able to bring myself to watch anymore. And this happened almost two years ago!

So I am going to take my time with Daredevil, pace myself, make it a marathon instead of a sprint. I want to watch this show, but most importantly, I want to finish it. In order to do that, I’ll have to watch something lighthearted between my Daredevil sessions. I think I’ll start with Stardust.

Leave a Reply

