To Cry would be an Awfully Big Adventure

Crying is not necessarily a sign of weakness. It is a sign that you care deeply about something (that is, I am not talking about crying due to physical pain). You can tell a lot about a person by what genuinely makes them cry. So far, the list of things that elicit strong enough emotion from me so as to make me cry all have one thing in common: family. And I do care deeply about my family.

The list is short and only includes scenes from movies or TV shows, but that will change with time. I am going to continuously update this post as I find new things to add to it. For most of these items, crying does not mean outright bawling my eyes out, but rather a tear or two escaping down my cheeks because I just cannot hold them back.

Things that always make me cry:

  • The scene in Dumbo with the song “Baby Mine” where Dumbo visits his imprisoned mother and is swinging on her trunk. This scene truly never fails to make me emotional.
  • The scene in the Avatar: The Last Airbender, the episode “Tales of Ba Sing Se,” Iroh’s story where he takes a picnic lunch up to a tree to honor the birthday of his deceased son. This tale ends with a tribute to Iroh’s first voice actor, Mako Iwamatsu, who died shortly before the episode aired.
  • Another scene from Avatar: The Last Airbender, the episode “Sozin’s comet Part 2: The Old Masters,” when Prince Zuko finally reunites with his Uncle Iroh.
  • As much as I dislike Star Wars Episode 3 – Revenge of the Sith, the scene where Anakin is about to kill the Younglings always makes me tear up. They are young, innocent, and cute! They trust Master Anakin! And he kills them! Aaahhh! It gets me every time. Good thing I don’t watch that film often due to my dislike of it as a whole (see post “Let’s Talk Star Wars“).
  • So there is this Australian show that I binge watched on Netflix called “Dance Academy.” When one of the main characters died, I bawled like a baby. To be fair, I was overly stressed about finals, and it was 2 am. Still, that episode was really emotional, and I probably would have teared up anyway (just not bawled).
Leave a Reply

